Photo Courtesy of Lebanon Link

Federal Disaster funds have been approved for counties affected by the May storms.

FEMA officials say the funding will help 19 counties that were affected by flooding, tornadoes and straight-line winds that cause serious damage.

That includes Dallas, Hickory and Laclede counties here in the Lake area.

The worst hit area was the city of Lebanon, where straight line winds toppled buildings, destroyed hangars in the Airport and knocked out numerous power lines causing a majority of the city to be without power for weeks.



July 10, 2020

President Trump Approves Governor Parson’s Request for Major Disaster Declaration Due to May Severe Storms

(JEFFERSON CITY, MO) – President Donald Trump has approved Governor Mike Parson’s request for a federal major disaster declaration for Missouri as a result of severe storms that swept across the state on May 3 and 4, 2020.

The disaster declaration means federal Public Assistance will be available to 19 Missouri counties, which allows local governments and nonprofit agencies to seek assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with the storms.

The counties included in the disaster declaration are Bates, Butler, Carter, Dallas, Douglas, Dunklin, Henry, Hickory, Howell, Laclede, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Polk, Ripley, Shannon, Stoddard, Wayne, and Wright.

“As Missouri continues to respond to COVID-19 and build on our economic recovery efforts, Federal Emergency Management Agency assistance will now provide much needed support to local governments and nonprofits that sustained the brunt of the damage from the May storms,” Governor Parson said. “The hard work of Missouri citizens, businesses, and communities are fueling our recovery, and this federal assistance will help us continue to move our state forward.”

The federal assistance will aid in repair and replacement costs for damage to electric power systems, buildings, bridges, roads, and other public infrastructure.

The disaster declaration also means FEMA Hazard Mitigation assistance will be available to Missouri to assist with cost-effective measures to reduce the potential for future damage to public infrastructure as a result of natural disasters.

Governor Parson requested the federal disaster declaration on June 16 following joint Preliminary Damage Assessments conducted by the State Emergency Management Agency, FEMA, and local officials. The damage assessments were conducted virtually due to COVID-19. Damage and response costs were preliminarily estimated at more than $9.3 million.


President Donald J. Trump Approves Major Disaster Declaration for Missouri

WASHINGTON — Yesterday, FEMA announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to the state of Missouri to supplement state, tribal and local recovery efforts in the areas affected by severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding from May 3-4, 2020.

Federal funding also is available to state, tribal and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds and flooding in Bates, Butler, Carter, Dallas, Douglas, Dunklin, Henry, Hickory, Howell, Laclede, New Madrid, Oregon, Pemiscot, Polk, Ripley, Shannon, Stoddard, Wayne, and Wright counties.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

John Brogan has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Brogan said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further assessments.


Following is a summary of key federal disaster aid programs that can be made available under President Donald J. Trump’s disaster declaration issued for the state of Missouri.

Assistance for the State, Tribal, and Affected Local Governments Can Include as Required:

  • Payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for emergency protective measures taken to save lives and protect property and public health.  Emergency protective measures assistance is available to state, tribal and local governments on a cost-sharing basis (Source: FEMA funded, state administered)
  • Payment of not less than 75 percent of the eligible costs for repairing or replacing damaged public facilities, such as roads, bridges, utilities, buildings, schools, recreational areas, and similar publicly owned property, as well as certain private non-profit organizations engaged in community service activities. (Source: FEMA funded, state administered)
  • Payment of not more than 75 percent of the approved costs for hazard mitigation projects undertaken by state, tribes and local governments to prevent or reduce long-term risk to life and property from natural or technological disasters.  (Source: FEMA funded, state administered)

How to Apply for Assistance:

Application procedures for state, tribal, and local governments will be explained at a series of applicant briefings with locations to be announced in the affected area by recovery officials. Approved public repair projects are paid through the state from funding provided by FEMA and other participating federal agencies.