New Highway Patrol Troopers Include One New Officer For Laclede County

Local News Wednesday, June 10th, 2020

21 New Troopers are being added to the Missouri State Highway Patrol.

They’re part of this year’s graduating class from the Patrol’s Law Enforcement Academy.

Due to COVID 19, this year’s ceremony scheduled to take place on June 26th will be held via Facebook live.

The new Troopers will join the force on July 13th officially.

Officials say out of all 21, only one Trooper is being assigned to the Lake Region.

That’s Justin Morrison of Springfield, who will focus primarily on Troop I in Laclede County.


EMPHASIS: 21 New Troopers To Graduate From Missouri State Highway Patrol Law Enforcement Academy

Colonel Eric T. Olson, superintendent of the Missouri State Highway Patrol, announces that 21 troopers will graduate from the Patrol’s Law Enforcement Academy on Friday, June 26, 2020. The ceremony is by invitation only due to the coronavirus guidelines, but will be available to the public and the media via Facebook live. The ceremony will begin at 10 a.m. The 109th Recruit Class reported to the Academy on January 6, 2020, to begin the 25-week training to become a trooper. The new troopers will report to duty in their assigned troops on July 13, 2020.

Four class awards will be presented. The recruits accumulate points toward graduation in the categories of physical fitness, firearms, and academics throughout their 25 weeks at the Academy. The person with the highest number of points in each category earns the respective award. Award categories include physical fitness, firearms, academics, and the Superintendent’s Award, which is presented to the person with the most points overall.

The names (hometowns) and first assignments of members of the 109th Recruit Class are listed below:

Troop A
Jonathan R. Boydston (Kansas City, MO), Zone 2, Platte County
Kevin M. Cox (Peculiar, MO), Zone 11, Cass County
Margarito Gallo Mejia (Vail, IA), Zone 2, Platte County
Colin E. Osborne (Kirksville, MO), Zone 9, Lafayette County
Tanner L. Wallace (Ozark, MO), Zone 11, Cass County
Thomas J. Whitaker (Joplin, MO), Zone 12, Johnson County

Troop B
Caleb L. Hirner (New London, MO), Zone 3, Chariton/Linn Counties
Kurtis A. Hurley (Center, MO), Zone 6, Clark/Scotland Counties

Troop C
Mark D. Benson (Park Hills, MO), Zone 13, Jefferson County
Daniel M. Bochucinski (Plainfield, IL), Zone 19, Lincoln/Pike Counties
Zachary C. Crumley (Benton, MO), Zone 11, Franklin County
Curtis L. Schilling (Jackson, MO), Zone 8, St. Charles County
Ryan J. Steele (Arcadia, MO), Zone 10, Franklin County

Troop E
David L. Brawley (Whitewater, MO), Zone 9, New Madrid/Pemiscot County
Joshua J. Schuenemeyer (Jackson, MO), Zone 7, Scott/Mississippi/New Madrid Counties

Troop G
Kage W. Etherton (Aurora, MO), Zone 4, North Howell/Shannon Counties
Jacob J. Smith (Winona, MO), Zone 3, North Howell/Shannon Counties

Troop H
Byron D. Hahn (Cameron, MO), Zone 3, Harrison/Gentry Counties
Aaron M. Mapel (St. Joseph, MO), Zone 2, Nodaway/Worth Counties

Troop I
Justin D. Morrison (Springfield, MO), Zone 8, Laclede County
Colby B. Townsend (St. Louis, MO), Zone 3, Crawford County

Local News Wednesday, June 10th, 2020

Reporter Webmaster